Buddy the Bear

I have seen this project all over Pinterest and Instagram but I never found a handout for how to execute the project. So naturally a made a handout myself! Feel free to download/save the image and make copies for your own class!

My teacher sample
FREE handout

I would start this project with a PowerPoint that introduces warm/cool colors (used for the sweaters) as well as different types of texture. You can choose to jump right into the drawing if you’d like!

TIP: I suggest having your students practice first on paper that isn’t going to be used for the final project. I have loads of construction paper that was donated from fellow teachers at the beginning of the year so I have them practice on that. Most elementary teachers tend to skip practicing and just start ASAP due to the limited amount of times they see their students a week. I rather have my students “waste” crappy paper practicing than waste/ruin expensive drawing paper.

After the intro, I would demo how to draw the basic shapes of the bear’s facial structure. Next, I would explain how to draw the guide lines and explain their purpose. Once I feel they have successful grasped the concept I would walk around and help strugglin’ students. Everything else is self explanatory!

Leave a comment